Legislature Super Diary from the Fun Part of Hell: Entry No. 3

Rep. Alonzo Baldonado told me he is praying for my children I haven’t had yet. “Because a child growing up with a father who doesn’t care for life….” He ended his sentence there, because the rest should speak for itself.

Baldonado has introduced a bill here (House Bill 51) which would require every minor who wants an abortion to write a letter about it to her parents, “delivered personally to the addressee by the physician or agent (who works for the physician).” Forty-eight hours after delivery, the procedure is legal.

You can read about it here, in the New Mexican. What that story is missing, though, is any comment from Baldonado.

So I set out after him myself. We talked for about 20 minutes before he had to get back on the floor of the House, because, he was told, “Kiki needs you.”

Baldonado is a young guy, 35ish, in his first year representing Valencia County. He’s friendly and easy to talk with, even when he’s judging me (“My heart hurts for you,” he said at one point).

He is not here for his understanding of economics and taxation, he said. He’s here on a mission from God. “To save babies.”

And America: “If you look at history, and look at nations that have risen to the top, none of them exist anymore. All the empires are gone. Then there’s America. I’ve got to sit back and look and wonder how many years America has left, and whether it will end before we know it. In my mind that day will come. We can’t continue on the way we’re going.”

Society is on a bad path when it “takes God out of the equation,” he said (adding that “Darwin’s fossil record is full of holes”). That path will get darker and steeper if we continue killing the unborn.

I asked him why pro-lifers don’t rally and decry civilian casualties in war, and he said that’s not a problem for him to solve. I asked him whether there’s a contradiction for Republicans, whose ethos is limited government, telling American women how they have to act when it comes to the most personal decision they may ever make.

On that one, he said I was only thinking about the woman. He thinks about the child that woman is carrying, and “the honor and blessing of carrying a life.” Allowing women to kill their unborn babies, he said, is like seeing someone who’s fallen and hurting on the sidewalk and walking away without helping.

Except that it’s murder, plain and simple. He repeatedly mentioned his three daughters and said, a little ominously, “if you threatened one of my daughters, I wouldn’t hesitate to take you out.” (As a quick aside: I’ve never threatened anyone’s daughter, and I look forward to passing from this Earth some day many decades from now still able to say same.) Baldonado thinks murdering a 2-year-old is the same as an abortion. I pegged him down to make sure I understood that correctly.

“How dare we think it’s OK to take the life of a child,” he said. Then he headed back to Kiki. I would not have put it that way, but I’m happy to have the conversation. I’m happy Baldondado is, too.

One thought on “Legislature Super Diary from the Fun Part of Hell: Entry No. 3

  1. Check my thinking here, Sandy. So an abortion is murder, right, but once the little sucker passes the terrible twos, then he or she is fair game for the wrong side of a pistol if they’re threatening a member of the Baldonado clan? Doesn’t that Good Book of his also say something about turning the other cheek?

    You didn’t get his clear read on the death penalty, Philbo. Bad on you. If he were for the death penalty, then his hypocrisy really would have a capital H. Right now he’s simply a Zealot. Zealots are nuts. Hypocrites have their own circle of Hell. Big difference.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

